Windows

Windows 11许可证类型解释

  • Windows操作系统许可证总共有三种重要类型。
  • 每种产品密钥类型(零售、OEM和VLK)都具有优势,同时也有一系列限制。
  • 了解每种类型的区别将有助于您决定为您的PC购买何种类型的产品。
软件许可证

软件许可可能非常令人困惑,是一个复杂的问题。 微软视窗 由于有几种不同的选项,每种选项都有显著的差异,因此 Windows 11 也不例外。幸运的是,与Windows 11相关的许可证主要有三种,如果您像我一样是最终用户,则只需关注两种。

如果您想了解有关企业软件许可的详细信息,恐怕我在这里帮不了您,因为我没有这方面的经验。如果是这样的话,您的IT部门应该能够帮助您。

Windows 11 许可证类型:零售、OEM 和批量许可 (VLK)

大多数情况下,您会在各种微软产品的许可中看到这三个术语,对于那些按月或按年许可的产品,这三个术语会有一些变化(参见Microsoft Office 例如).

其他软件公司使用类似甚至相同的条款,但实际的最终用户许可协议(EULA),又称许可协议,绝对不尽相同。

零售许可证(全包装产品 - FPP)- 可移动到另一台PC上

零售许可证是一种盒装许可证,您可以从PC组件中单独购买。有时也称为零售FPP(全套产品)。零售许可证对大多数人来说是最好的选择,但价格也更高。稍后您将了解原因。

通过设计、 您可以在任何兼容的计算机上安装零售许可证。您也可以在升级或更换计算机时移动零售许可证。.这就是为什么它是三种许可证中最昂贵的一种。

Windows零售许可证现在有多种形式:CD盒、USB记忆棒或通过电子邮件发送的产品密钥,您可以从微软服务器下载Windows 11。零售许可证用于在您的设备上安装 Windows 后激活 Windows。

OEM许可证(原始设备制造商)--链接到单台个人电脑

OEM许可证代表原始设备制造商(OEM),这意味着它是针对预制台式计算机或笔记本电脑的特定硬件组件颁发的。

您不能将OEM许可证转移到另一台计算机上,因为它与硬件本身相关联。 激活几乎总是自动完成,因此您无需做任何事情。

如果更换了重要组件(或者某个重要组件发生故障并在之后被更换),您必须购买另一个OEM许可证。通常致电微软并说明情况可以帮助重新激活新的许可证。 硬件无需额外费用。您的里程数可能会有所不同。

Windows 11 OEM许可证的价格比Windows 11零售许可证的价格低很多,但缺点是不能移动到其他设备上。

Windows 11:FPP与OEM 结论:从长远来看 零售Windows许可证在经济上更合理.我还有一个Windows 7零售密钥,我已经将它升级到Windows 8,然后是10,然后是11,之后至少使用了五台不同的电脑。

微软批量许可(VLK)--它不适合最终用户

这是一个特殊的 大公司保留的许可证类型 需要不断交换大量计算机,并且需要一种简单的方法来快速激活、重新激活和移动许可证,而无需每次都致电微软或购买新的许可证。

VLK如何工作:微软将在客户公司的网络基础设施中安装一个专用的KMS服务器(密钥管理服务)。该服务器将用于根据需要发放VLK(批量许可证密钥)。批量Windows 11密钥的成本通常是单独协商的,但我感觉它低于零售或OEM许可证的成本。

批量许可的一个特殊子类别是 学术批量许可用于学校和大学。除此之外,其工作原理相同。

我们所说的批量许可证类型并不重要,因为它不能通过常规零售渠道购买、 至少在法律上没有.

什么是Windows数字许可证?

您可能会遇到数字许可证这个术语。这不是一种许可证类型,而是一种激活Windows的方法,无需在安装过程中输入25个字符的产品密钥。数字许可证将您的计算机与Microsoft在线帐户链接,因此前提条件是使用Microsoft帐户而不是本地帐户安装Windows。

前往 设置 > 系统 > 激活 将告诉您是否正在使用与 Microsoft 帐户关联的数字许可证。

windows11激活状态

数字链接的Windows许可证允许您轻松地重新安装和激活Windows,或将许可证移动到另一台计算机(如果是零售许可证),而无需使用产品密钥。

必读: 如何检查您正在运行的Windows许可证类型

其他特殊类型的Windows 11许可证

您可能会遇到其他 Windows 许可证类型,例如 升级许可证 适用于OEM和零售版Windows,以及 翻新许可证 这些是OEM和零售版本的变体。这些是OEM和零售版本的变体。

升级许可证只能安装在合格系统上,即在升级前已安装并激活前一版本Windows的PC。

总而言之: OEM和零售是唯一可以直接购买的Windows许可证。从长远来看,零售方案是最佳选择。

阿凡达为 Ionuț-Alexandru Popa
我是一名作家,也是 BinaryFork 的主编。我热衷于技术、科学、太空探索和电影。20 多年前,我从计算机科学专业毕业后,开始撰写科技方面的文章。
想要更聪明地工作,而不是更辛苦地工作?加入我们的免费时事通讯
学习日常使用的技巧,节省时间。您还将收到一份包含 Windows 11 必备快捷键的 PDF 文件。
给我报名!
我们想听听你的意见:

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

我们的读者欣赏激烈的辩论,只要他们保持礼貌,所以他们要求你尊重,即使你不完全同意他们的观点。谢谢!

我们网站上的书面内容是免费提供的,因为我们展示的是广告。请支持我们的努力,当您访问我们的网站时,请停用您的AdBlocker。谢谢您!
免费订阅,学习电脑技巧,让您更快地完成工作
每位订阅者都会收到一份包含 Windows 11 必备键盘快捷键的 PDF 文件。
我想学习

Windows 11 Licenses Types Explained

Affiliate Disclosure
BinaryFork uses affiliate links. That means that when you will decide to buy or download something by clicking a link on our website, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This commission is meant to keep our website up and running. More details
  • In total, there are three important types of Windows OS licenses.
  • Each product key type, Retail, OEM, and VLK has advantages and also a series of limitations.
  • Understanding the difference between each type will help you decide what to buy for your PC.
software license

Software licensing can be very confusing and is a complex issue. Microsoft Windows is no different since there are a couple of distinct options, each with significant differences. Fortunately, there are only three main types of licenses you should care about related to Windows 11, or only two if you’re like me, an end-user.

If you’re looking for details about Enterprise software licensing then I’m afraid I can’t really help you here, since it’s not something I have experience with. Your IT department should be able to help you if that’s the case.

Windows 11 Licenses Types: Retail, OEM, and Volume Licensing (VLK)

Most of the time you’ll see these three terms mentioned in licensing of various Microsoft products, with some variations for those that are licensed on a monthly or yearly basis (see Microsoft Office for example).

Other software companies use similar, if not identical terms, but the actual End User License Agreement (EULA), aka the license agreement, is definitely not the same, so make no assumptions and read it front and back before making any purchase decision.

Retail License (Full Packaged Product – FPP) – Can Be Moved to Another PC

The retail license is the boxed-style license that you buy separately from your PC components. It’s also called sometimes Retail FPP (Full Package Product). Retail is the best option for most people, but it’s also more expensive. You’ll understand why in a bit.

By design, you are permitted to install a retail license on any compatible computer. You are also able to move a retail license as you upgrade or change computers. That’s why it’s the most expensive type of license of the three.

Learn how to move a digital linked retail license to another Windows machine

Retail Windows kits now come in multiple forms: a CD box, on a USB memory stick, or just as a product key sent by email, as you can download Windows 11 from Microsoft’s servers. The retail license is used to activate Windows after you install it on one of your devices.

Learn how to retrieve the product key used to activate Windows

OEM License (Original Equipment Manufacturer) – Linked to a Single PC

The OEM license stands for Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM), which means it’s issued for a specific hardware component from a pre-built desktop computer or a laptop.

You can’t move an OEM license to another computer, as it is linked to the hardware itself. Activation is almost always done automatically, so no need for you to do anything.

In case of a major component change (or if one important component breaks down and is replaced afterward), you would have to buy another OEM license. Usually calling Microsoft and explaining the situation can help reactivate the license on the new hardware, at no extra cost. Your mileage may vary though.

A Windows 11 OEM license costs a lot less than a Windows 11 Retail license, but it comes with the shortcoming of not being able to be moved to another device.

In the long term, a Retail Windows license makes more sense financially. I still have one Windows 7 Retail key that I’ve upgraded to Windows 8, then 10, then 11, while using at least five different computers since.

Microsoft Volume Licensing (VLK) – It’s Not for End-Users

This is a special type of license reserved for big companies that need to swap a large number of computers constantly and need a simple way to activate, re-activate and move licenses quickly, without calling Microsoft or having to purchase a new license every time.

How VLK works: Microsoft will install a dedicated KMS server (Key Management Service) into the client company network infrastructure. This server will be used to issue VLK (Volume License Keys) as needed. The cost of Volume Windows 11 keys is usually negotiated individually, but I get a feeling it’s less than the cost of a Retail or OEM license.

A special subcategory of Volume Licensing is Academic Volume Licensing, which is meant for use in schools and universities. Other than that it works the same in principle.

It doesn’t matter which Volume License type we’re talking about, because it is not available for purchase through regular retail channels, at least not legally.

What is a Windows Digital License?

You may encounter the term digital license. This is not a license type, but a method of activating Windows without needing to input a 25-character product key during setup. The digital license links your computer to your Microsoft online account, so the pre-requisite is to install Windows by using a Microsoft account instead of a local one.

Heading to Settings > System > Activation will tell you if you’re using a digital license linked to your Microsoft account or not.

windows 11 activation state

Digitally linked Windows licenses allow you to easily reinstall and activate Windows or move the license to another computer (if it’s a Retail license) without having to resort to a product key.

Must read: how to check what kind of Windows license you are running

Other Special Types of Windows 11 Licenses

You may encounter mentions of other Windows license types, such as Upgrade licenses for both OEM and Retail copies of Windows, and Refurbished licenses which come with some second-hand computers. These are variations of OEM and Retail versions.

Upgrade licenses can only be installed on a qualifying system, a PC where a previous version of Windows was installed and activated before the upgrade takes place.

The TLDR is this: OEM and Retail are the only Windows licenses you can buy directly as a consumer. The Retail option is the best option long term.

Avatar for JP
I'm obsessed with technology, science, and gadgets. I write about them since 2003. I make websites because I like to build stuff. I'm also passionate about digital marketing and graphic design. I watch movies and play games in my spare time. I'm also reading books, mostly SciFi.

Get notified when new posts are published

Subscribe and receive notifications for newly published articles.

We want to hear what you have to say:

Your email address will not be published.

Our readers appreciate heated debates, as long as they remain polite, so they ask for your respect, even if you don't completely agree with them. Thanks!

The written content on our website is available free of charge because of the ads we're showing. Please support our efforts and deactivate your AdBlocker when you visit our site. Thank you!

Get updates directly to your inbox

Subscribe and receive notifications for newly published posts.